why i write

Some time ago I was flying to LAX from Walla Walla and I was sitting next to a fascinating woman. I cannot recall her name, but we started talking about SCUBA diving the conversation prompted by a hat I was wearing. She shared with me a number of stories of her diving adventures, and then she asked me what I was working on. I had a 2007 Macbook pro sitting on my meal tray, and before our conversation started I was typing frantically on the keyboard. I told her I was writing a book. She smiled, and asked what prompted me to start writing.

I told her about writing poetry in the 2nd grade. How it always felt challenging, but was like an adventure, something new and exciting. Then I moved on through the various classes, and the variety of teachers that I had that prompted me to write more.

In one elementary class a teacher had me write a short story. Then later she bound it and gave it to me as a gift. I treasured that, and I believe my parents have it locked away somewhere.

Later in the 5th grade I had an extremely understanding teacher who had required each student to write a short story and read it in front of the class. Our time was up but I pleaded for more, so she sent me to the back room and I finished a 9 page short story about a child who desired to be an actor. I read that story proudly to the class.

In the 8th grade is when I started to write longer stories. And in my Bible class I started writing the fantasy novel that I am still working on today. I believe the teacher though that I was writing extensive notes, but instead I wasn’t in the slightest bit paying attention, and was creating a world for myself to slip away to through middle and high school drama.

I continued writing through high school and helped found the school newspaper, and we developed it as a forum for writers to share their work. We all felt extremely accomplished. I wrote a couple of satires, two short story mysteries, and a number of other pieces that outlined the varying challenges I experienced at the time.

I told the woman all of this, and then she asked if she could read my book. I let her, and she spent a large part of the flight going through the pages I had written. She laughed, frowned, and interacted with what I had written. When she finished, she handed my computer back to me, and said that she wished that there was more to read.

Now with this shared, I will tell you that I write because I enjoy interacting with people. I enjoy sharing my ideas with them, my imagination and fantasies. I write because it gives me a sense of freedom.  I write because I love a story, and even though I’m writing it, the story and it’s characters surprise even me. I write for the adventure.

One thought on “why i write

  1. Reblogged this on It's College Life and commented:

    This summer I have challenged myself to work on and possibly finish a novel and blog about my experience doing it. If you haven’t visited my blog “a writing adventure,” take a look. You might like it.

Leave a Reply

